Thursday, September 30, 2010

999 Verandakus: #51 from Veranda Life

 

UncurlleftDSC02108(1) 

 

 

 

 

 

Uncurl your fingers

Spread your hands across your thighs

Feel them warm; be calm.

UncurlrightDSC02112(1)

Wednesday, September 29, 2010

999 Verandakus: #50 from Veranda Life

 

WeekendPapersDSC02090(1)

The Sunday papers

Take so much longer to read

than fast-print week days

Blogging in Plain English Video from YouTube

This is a simple explanation of blogs from The Common Craft Show with Lee LeFever.  The Common Craft web site is an excellent resource. Lee and his wife, Sachi, make three minute videos about a range of subjects, explaining what can be complex issues in simple, clear terms.  They use interesting techniques, as you can see from this video about blogging.  I highly recommend them.

Google Images Rock

Found on Google Images Advanced Search

At the "Blogging Plus" Course

Today I attended a blogging course at the State Library of Queensland in Brisbane.  I've been learning new things for the last few months by accident as I discover web sites that generously explain how to for all sorts of issues. 

One of the things we learned at the course was how to insert a Jump Break.

Tuesday, September 28, 2010

999 Verandakus: #49 from Veranda Life

 

PaintersBrushDSC02105(1)

The painter’s brush swipes

a weatherboard, two, three, four

White gloss glows and fades

Monday, September 27, 2010

999 Verandakus: #48 from Veranda Life

 

RowdyWalkDSC01870(1)

On a rowdy walk

My thoughts won’t settle, don’t stop

The present escapes

Sunday, September 26, 2010

999 Verandakus: #47 from Veranda Life

 

NewBloomsDSC01939(2)

New blooms, shy at first

Invite Spring to take charge and

grow their floral stars

Saturday, September 25, 2010

999 Verandakus: #46 from Veranda Life

 

BeachSunsetDSC00925(1)

A day at the beach

Sun, sea breezes, lunch and talk

Sleepy by sunset

Friday, September 24, 2010

999 Verandakus: #45 from Veranda Life

 

PointillistDSC01811(1)

When Spring showers start

Clouds paint in pointillist style

Followed by a wash

Thursday, September 23, 2010

999 Verandakus: #44 from Veranda Life

 

DogSleepingDSC01580(1)

The sleeping dog lies

Just where she was yesterday

Tail swish signals life

Wednesday, September 22, 2010

Tuesday, September 21, 2010

999 Verandakus: #42 from Veranda Life

 

DuckBrunchDSC01792(1)

Ducks have left the pond

And flown to the park for brunch

Two friends eating out

Monday, September 20, 2010

999 Verandakus: #41 from Veranda Life

 

ParkBenchDSC01659(1)

The park bench seats three

Its plaque honours a dead man

Comfort from beyond

Sunday, September 19, 2010

999 Verandakus: #40 from Veranda Life

 

FossilsDSC01868(1)

On some windy days

Ocean air sweeps far inland

Fossils sniff their birth

Saturday, September 18, 2010

Friday, September 17, 2010

Thursday, September 16, 2010

Wednesday, September 15, 2010

999 Verandakus: #36 from Veranda Life

 

SmudgeDSC01674(1)

After winter rains

Blue sky paints in from the west

The first coat smudges

Tuesday, September 14, 2010

999 Verandakus: #35 from Veranda Life

 

PapayatreeDSC01668(1)

The papaya tree

Drops green fruit over the fence

Taunting passersby

 

PapayafruitDSC01671(1)

Monday, September 13, 2010

999 Verandakus: #34 from Veranda Life

 

SurfpaddDSC01851(1)

A surfboard paddler

Hits the shallows far out and

carries his ride in

Sunday, September 12, 2010

999 Verandakus: #33 from Veranda Life

 

TreelopDSC01874(1)

At our local park

The summer tree lop begins

Danger grounded, chipped

Saturday, September 11, 2010

999 Verandakus: #32 from Veranda Life

 

ParrotflyingDSC01950(1)

Parrots screech from trees

Flying to other perches

Colouring my day

Friday, September 10, 2010

999 Verandakus: #31 from Veranda Life

 

WinterDSC01897(1)

A blustery change

invites winter in to stay

Doors slam in its face

Thursday, September 9, 2010

999 Verandakus: #30 from Veranda Life

 

Sweet catDSC01286(1)

Dinner and a pat

What more could a sweet cat want?

Brush, kiss, cuddle, brush …

Wednesday, September 8, 2010

999 Verandakus: #29 from Veranda Life

 

SilenceDSC01463(1)

For moments, silence

Birds, breezes, cars, workers – still

I hear my shoes

Tuesday, September 7, 2010

999 Verandakus: #28 from Veranda Life

 

CockatooDSC01860(1)

White and yellow screech

Sulphur-crested cockatoo

on its way to work

Monday, September 6, 2010

Sunday, September 5, 2010

Saturday, September 4, 2010

999 Verandakus: #25 from Veranda Life

 

MowingDSC01927(1)

After the mowing

Chlorophyll scented buffet

for all feathered guests

Friday, September 3, 2010

999 Verandakus: #24 from Veranda Life

LoppedDSC01909(1)
The lop-sided tree
grows thicker on its left half
Scorning the traffic

Thursday, September 2, 2010

999 Verandakus: #23 from Veranda Life

 

Prayer2DSC01881(1)

High-voltage line guards

flap like Tibetan prayer flags

Safety for the soul

Wednesday, September 1, 2010

999 Verandakus: #22 from Veranda Life

CloudsDSC01630(1) The first day of Spring

Sun glow, bird screech, dog bark, breeze

My mother’s birthday

999 Verandakus: #21 from Veranda Life


The cherry pickers
Pick power at the pole top
Sparkling light bulb juice