Monday, February 28, 2011

999 Verandakus: #217 from Veranda Life

Perfumedsco1649

Someone’s sweet perfume

drifts in early morning streets

Aftershave competes

Sunday, February 27, 2011

Saturday, February 26, 2011

999 Verandakus: #215 from Veranda Life

WindBlowsdsco0999

The wind blows leaves up

from the road and down from trees

Unity in death

Friday, February 25, 2011

999 Verandakus: #214 from Veranda Life

Magpiesdsco1652

Magpies sing the trees

Teaching their fledglings the tunes

that will save their lives

Thursday, February 24, 2011

999 Verandakus: #213 from Veranda Life

Burnoff

When the burn-offs start

the air chill begins to wane

Summer in the smoke

Wednesday, February 23, 2011

Tuesday, February 22, 2011

Monday, February 21, 2011

Sunday, February 20, 2011

999 Verandakus: #209 from Veranda Life

SummerMoonp1000254

Summer twilight moon

lights a last half-hour of play

between work and dreams

Saturday, February 19, 2011

999 Verandakus: #208 from Veranda Life

JetTrail

A rising jet trail

fights currents and gravity

On the way to – air?

Friday, February 18, 2011

Thursday, February 17, 2011

999 Verandakus: #206 from Veranda Life

Valentinedsco099

Valentine’s Day is

also my father’s birthday

Love spills beyond dates

Wednesday, February 16, 2011

Tuesday, February 15, 2011

999 Verandakus: #204 from Veranda Life

Mushroomspc270630

Mushrooms grow at night

and surprise our morning walk

past the neighbour’s lawn

Monday, February 14, 2011

Sunday, February 13, 2011

Saturday, February 12, 2011

Friday, February 11, 2011

Thursday, February 10, 2011

999 Verandakus: #199 from Veranda Life

 

EarlyMorningDSCO2328

Early morning dew

sits on grass in shining drops

Bejewelled by sun

Wednesday, February 9, 2011

999 Verandakus: #198 from Veranda Life

 

ACockatooDSCO2333(1)

A cockatoo flies

through white sky towards the sun

and disappears

Tuesday, February 8, 2011

Monday, February 7, 2011

999 Verandakus: #196 from Veranda Life

 

SunsetSeaDSCO1017

Sunset sea-breezes

spring from nowhere and surprise

our day’s end dreaming

Sunday, February 6, 2011

999 Verandakus: #195 from Veranda Life

 

TheScentP7050236

The scent of jasmine

fills the darkest night with the

sweet lure of comfort

Saturday, February 5, 2011

999 Verandakus: #194 from Veranda Life

 

AfterP7070344

After the weekend

Footpaths and yards cut and cropped

Spring morning delights

Friday, February 4, 2011

999 Verandakus: #193 from Veranda Life

 

TwoBrownDucksDSCO1974

Two brown ducks glide in

Grounding themselves in stillness

before their park lunch

Thursday, February 3, 2011

999 Verandakus: #192 from Veranda Life

 

YouSmellIronP100077

You smell iron first

Then feel a drop, hear it

drumming up the street

Wednesday, February 2, 2011

999 Verandakus: #191 from Veranda Life

 

MyClothesDSCO4487

My clothesline turning

sounds like a sad, one-note flute,

determined to play

Tuesday, February 1, 2011

999 Verandakus: #190 from Veranda Life

 

FridayBloomingDSCO2252

Friday’s blooming tree

has lost every petal

by Monday – Spring speeds